In English

Statsvetenskapliga förbundet

Swedish Political Science Association


Swedish Political Science Association

The Swedish Political Science Association ("Swepsa"), founded in 1970, is the disciplinary organisation for political scientists in Sweden. Swepsa has both institutional members (approximately 17) from the 14 universities and 22 university colleges in Sweden and individual members from all over the country. Membership is open to everyone with an interest in political science and includes researchers, teachers, Ph.D. students and practitioners of various kinds. As a member, you are entitled to take part in the annual meetings and related conference. The annual conference rotates between the main universities and university colleges and includes both general sessions and a range of smaller workshops where papers are presented and discussed. Traditionally, there have been sections for international politics, public administration, comparative politics and political theory, while in recent years additional groups have been formed to cover, for instance, gender politics, EU research, constitutional politics and the politics of environment and sustainable development.

The purpose of Swepsa is fourfold: to promote critical debate of the aims and means of political science and its function in society at large; to inform about research in the field; to stimulate co-operation between political scientists from different departments in Sweden; and to represent Swedish political science in international co-operations, e.g. in NOPSA, ECPR and IPSA, i.e. the Nordic, European and international organisations. Swepsa has a close collaboration with the Swedish political science journal entitled "Statsvetenskaplig Tidskrift", managed by a foundation at Lund University and published from 1964 and onwards, which contains both research articles and debates relating to political science. Since 2005, Swepsa has a special section for information and debate published in this journal. Swepsa members contribute regularly to the journal and enjoy a reduced subscription rate.

The chairmanship of Swepsa rotates biannually between the different university-based political science departments, while its steering board is comprised of approximately 17 representatives from all departments including those from university colleges, Ph.D. students and practitioners.


SWEPSA Annual Meeting

SWEPSA has an annual meeting every fall. The annual meetings include paper-giving thematic workshops, a keynote address, and other joint activities. The 2017 annual meeting will be arranged by the political scientists at Karlstad University and will be held in Karlstad during October 2017. Further information will be provided later.




Swedish Political Science Association

c/o David Feltenius

Department of Political Science

Umeå University

SE-901 87 Umeå




Collective Membership Fee is paid for those employed within Swedish Political Science Departments.


Individual membership:

200 SEK for full-time employed

100 SEK for students

pg 72 32 39 - 0

© SWEPSA | Statsvetenskapliga förbundet | All Rights Reserved | Webmaster

Board of SWEPSA 2016-2017


Anders Lidström, Umeå University

Vice Chair

Maria Solevid, Göteborg University


David Feltenius, Umeå University


Monika Berg, Örebro University

Douglas Bromesson, Lund University

Andreas Duit, Stockholm University

Joakim Ekman, Södertörn University

Terence Fell, Mälardalen University

Magnus Hagevi, Linnaeus University

Dan Hansén, National Defence College

Per Jansson, Linköping University

Jonna Johansson, Halmstad University

Simon Matti, Luleå University of Technology

Anna Michalski, Uppsala University

Inga Narbutaité-Aflaki, Karlstad University

Bo Petersson, Malmö University

Åsa von Schoultz, Mid Sweden University

Irina Mancheva, Umeå University, PhD representtive

Karin Eriksson, Journalist, public representative

Thomas Larue, Swedish Parliament, public representative